Pineapple & Cactus Smothie (Licuado de piña y nopal)

Image

For me cactus (nopales) is a lot like okra, slightly gooey.

Cactus has a very mild flavor and is also incredibly good for you since it is high in fiber, antioxidants and carotenoids. Some preliminary evidence shows that prickly pear cactus can decrease blood sugar levels in people with type 2 diabetes.

While thinking about a way of eating more cactus I remembered this smoothie recipe that was indeed this first ever “green smoothie” I ever tried. It was a recipe that my grandma got from a newspaper and it was in her kitchen that I gave it a try with a skeptical face.

And it was then when I noticed if you eat raw cactus is not only not gooey but it also has a milder fresher taste that I prefer. I do find parsley to be a strong flavor on this smoothie so if you don’t like your greens as much as I do you could substitute for something less strong in flavor like spinach. Either way I do find it quite delicious and refreshing.

For the ingredients you will need:

  • 1 cup of freshly cut pineapple*
  • 1 celery stick
  • A bunch of parsley
  • Juice of one lemon (or grapefruit if in season)
  • Water + ice
  • Stevia or sweetener of choice

*Make sure your pineapple is ripe and sweet.

Blend all ingredients and enjoy.

Image

Image

Buen provecho : )

Leave a Reply

